Palin’s Ex-Brother-in-Law Says He Regrets Bad Blood

September 6, 2008

Source: Washington Post
WASILLA, Alaska — The state trooper at the center of Gov. Sarah Palin’s Troopergate scandal denied that he ever threatened to kill Palin’s father and expressed regret that his case has exploded into the national media.

“I would like to put this behind me and move on with my life,” Trooper Mike Wooten said in an interview with The Washington Post. “I don’t wish ill will on anyone. I think that the nomination that Sarah got is great for the state of Alaska. I wish her good luck and the family good luck. I honestly think that everyone involved in this wanted to put this beyond us.”

He also voiced pride that he had once been part of the Palin family. “I was a member of that family for five years. I cherish those memories,” he said. “I will carry them with me for the rest of my life. There are several things that will be handled differently on my part and if I could do it over differently, I would.”

Wooten, however, contradicted Palin’s statement that she overheard him in 2005 threaten her father during an argument with Palin’s younger sister, Molly McCann, Wooten’s wife at the time. Wooten noted that an internal investigation failed to sustain the death-threat allegation.

“That did not happen,” Wooten said. “There was obviously arguments between Molly and I, but there were no confrontations where I threatened to kill her father. I haven’t threatened to kill anyone in that family.”

Wooten, 36, speaking during a break while working in the Mat-Su Valley, acknowledged making mistakes in his first few years with the Alaska State Troopers. “I was younger,” he said. “I made some mistakes. I paid for those mistakes. They are behind me. I am trying to move on. My focus is on my job and my kids. I want to be the best dad that I can be and the best trooper that I can be.”

Wooten said he had no direct information about efforts to have him fired after Palin became governor in 2006.

“I had heard that there were still conversations and some pressure being sent forward about me being a trooper, but I didn’t know anything about concrete conversations,” Wooten said.

Palin is under investigation by the state legislature to determine if she pressured and then fired the state police commissioner for failing to dismiss Wooten. A senator leading the investigation said yesterday the bipartisan committee moved up the completion date of the report several weeks to Oct. 10.

Wooten and the governor’s sister divorced in 2005 and the couple have been embroiled in testy child custody fights.

On the same day that McCann filed for divorce in April 2005, the governor’s father made the first call to the state troopers to report allegations of wrongdoing. Complaints filed by McCann, Sarah Palin and their family resulted in more than 20 internal-affairs investigations, said his attorney, Richard Payne.

Image Hosting by Picoodle.com

4 Responses to “Palin’s Ex-Brother-in-Law Says He Regrets Bad Blood”

  1. Track Starr said

    Another smarmy, self-righteous, vindictive, born-again governor from an oil rich state. Sounds like real change

  2. ms independent said

    I saw the slime ball trooper in question in an exclusive interview on CNN.He admitted tazoring his stepson and said it was no more pain then touching a electrified fence!He also said that he has been married and divorced 4 times.Twice before he married Molly and once after.The dude is bad news.Why doesn’t someone question his other 3 ex’s?

  3. […] The  trooper involved claims that he never threatened anyone, but several family members say differently. It’s not “he said she said”, it’s “he said versus she, her father, and several family members”. […]

  4. […] of guy I’d want toting a pistol and keeping the peace. Although the man denies these charges in this article, it’s important to keep in mind that (a) anyone capable of the level of anger necessary to make […]

Leave a Reply

